Skip to content ↓

St. John's C of E VC Infants' School


The school was originally an all-boys school built 1866 by the Church of England. Later it was passed to Somerset County Council as a Voluntary Controlled School.

The Dioceses of Bath and Wells  continue to support the school by offering essential resources and training.

The School also has close links with The Church of St John the Baptist. The Reverend David MacGeoch often holds Collective Worship in the school as well as in Church and each year group holds a child - led church service throughout the year.


OUR SCHOOL VISION:                                                

‘A school where every child can shine’

‘Those who are wise will shine as bright as the sky, and those who lead many to righteousness will shine like the stars forever’. (Daniel 12v3)

As a school community we believe that the ethos of the school should be built on a foundation of values. At St. John’s we seek to promote our School Christian Values, of Love, Perseverance and Respect.

As a community of learners at St. John’s C of E Infants’ we value the joy of learning, recognise and cherish the uniqueness of each individual and endeavour to realise everyone’s full potential.

Our Christian Ethos nurtures personal beliefs and attitudes, which enables all to seek meaning through life’s journey.

The school welcomes all children from the neighbourhood, whatever their parents’ beliefs and teaches understanding of, and respect for, other religions and cultures, thus promoting attitudes of mutual respect and responsibility.

We believe our motto of ‘A school where every child can shine’ and our Christian Values, are central to all that we do.


Statutory Inspection of Anglican and Methodist Schools

All Church of England dioceses and the Methodist Church use the National Society’s framework for the Statutory Inspection of Anglican and Methodist Schools (SIAMS) under Section 48 of the Education Act 2005. The framework sets out the expectations for the conduct of the Statutory Inspection of Anglican, Methodist and ecumenical Schools under Section 48 of the Education Act 2005 and provides a process for evaluating the extent to which church schools are “distinctively and recognisably Christian institutions”.